Where was I…?

Okay,

So we returned to the boat after the whiskey tasting and set sail around four I think. The weather was perfect and it was exciting to squeeze out of the harbour and follow the coastline down along. We were making good speed, 5-6 knots, when all of a sudden we heard this huge horn being blown. Looking round we saw a tanker bearing down on us!

My first thoughts were, we’re all doomed! Andy, the skipper however was a little more calm and collected. He came up on deck and looked at the situtaion and went “okay, she is on a collision course with us”. This did nothing to for my nerves. Next Andy started discussing the different options for how to get out of the way. “We could tack this way…or maybe we should go the other way”. In my head I was screaming to go any way other than in front of this tanker. Andy made the decision, we turned towards the tanker and watched as it drifted effortlessly by. It was Russian we think and we waved, but they didn’t wave back. If the skipper of that boat is reading this, sorry we got in your way!

My heart rate stabilised and we were back on our way. Abour four hours into the trip I was amazed I had avoided any sea-sickness. Of course, this thought alone triggered something and suddenly I wasn’t feeling too well. I always do that to myself. I stay occupied and oblivious to it and then suddenly think “oh I’m doing well” which then makes me think “oh, I shouldn’t be doing well” which sets things in motion, so to speak! Anyway about half an hour later I emptied my stomach over Andys boat, but got most of it in the sea. Straight afterwards I felt fine!

After 5-6 hours we dropped anchor in this amazing bay, an inlet to Scapa flow. During the first and second world wars, the Navy sunk block ships here to prevent enemy boats from gaining access. Also Winston Churchill ordered the construction of causeways to prevent access to U boats. So as we sailed into this sheltered inlet, there were wrecks and bits of boat sticking out of the water. THe history can be found on this webpage. We had a slap up meal of local seafood, a few drinks and bunked down for the night.

I’ll finish with a quick update on the job. Maja, the nice secretary in Basel was in touch about the employment agency. I have to send her a copy of my passport, my certificates (Degree and PhD), a colour photo and my CV. I’m going to try and get those to her as soon as, if I can find my degree certificate! I also emailed Martin for a copy of the contract, as I’m still unsure as to the length of the contract and my salary! Important details!

Anyhoo, tomorrow the conclusion of my nautical tale and back to more mundane things!

B

Leave a Reply

