The long finger…

Thats where my blog is,

Right at the end of the long finger. But I’ve loads to tell you about but just not the time. I also don’t like blogging during work but today I’ve made an exception as I have German again tonight and will be too tired to post again.

We had a great meeting of Swiss bloggers on Sunday. The Big Finn organised it all and you can see the one photo he took of the event on his blog. We got to meet Matthew and Sarah from the Swiss Coffee blog along with a host of others. I plan to put everyone’s links on soon.

So I’ve started the “Intensive Conversational German Course”. Although we’ve started with the easy stuff I feel a little in the deep end. What I didn’t realise is that some of the class mightn’t speak English! We have people from Vietnam, Japan, Pakistan, Italy, South Africa, America and of course Ireland (yours truly). Therefore the teacher addresses us in German unless we ask questions in English. Its complicated but it’ll work, I’m determined to get it right.


Here’s what I’ve learnt so far:

Wie heissen sie? – Who are you?

Wie geht es Ihnen? – How are you?

Sehr gut! – very good

And so on. Its interesting, challenging (pronunciation as well as structure) and tiring. But soon I’ll be chatting away “ninety to the dozen” as they say. I wonder if they have that phrase in German?

Answers on a postcard (or just in the comments!)

3 responses to “The long finger…

  1. Hey guys,

    Good to see that you had a successful festive period. I had a great time in Oz, it was fantastic. Hope to hear from you soon.

    Sheryl

  2. Good for you! I’d love to have the chance to learn a language and then actually get to use it!!

  3. Hmm. I don’t think that expression exists in German, but anyway. It was fun to get to meet you in person.

    Keep up the German classes.

Leave a Reply

