What a widget…

I’m a Mac fan,

I don’t consider myself a nerd (although many who know me would disagree) but I do like how Apple computers and software are put together. They just seem to make more sense to me than a PC and windows.

I’ve had to get back into using Windows since a lot of the equipment here in the building runs software on Windows and I haven’t found it a pleasurable experience to be honest. However I’m not here to moan, I have a four day weekend, I’ve just got paid and the sun is shining!

No, what I wanted to do is make you aware of very clever like programmes called widgets (they’re called gadgets in Windows Vista; Yahoo have a widget engine and lots of widgets here for Windows and Macs). I’ve mentioned them before, the Mac operating system comes with a few handy ones included. There’s a converter for everything, a translator for most of the major languages,a weather widget, a ski snow report widget that came in very handy, clocks, stock trackers, flight trackers amongst others. You can also downloads hundreds from here.

You can now add “The Swiss Job widget” to that list!! After a little tinkering I’ve managed to create one that will bring you the latest posts from your favourite blog! If you have Mac OSX or Vista or can run widgets online then you can download it by clicking the link on the right. Here’s a snapshot of what it looks like:

picture-3.png

If you download it please let me know what you think, if you had problems or suggest ways I might improve it. Enjoy!

3 responses to “What a widget…

  1. Sorry if this is a stupid question, but how does this differ/improve on using RSS readers? Or is it just a different way to view someone’s blog?

    Good work – I wouldn’t have a clue where to start with that sort of thing.

  2. Ok I like it but its mahoosive! I’m only a macbook… can i make it smaller?

Leave a Reply

