Hi ho Silver…

My Dad is a great fan of the Western genre of films. He grew up watching the adventures of the Lone Ranger, with his horse Silver and trusty sidekick Tonto righting wrongs in the Wild West. I, on the other hand, had the heady mix of Airwolf, Knightrider and The A-Team to grow up to. But, despite the constant complaints when Dad would switch over to John Wayne swaggering through a lawless gold rush town, I always had a soft spot for the Westerns too.

However, I think Silver would be doing cartwheels in his grave if he knew what I got up to on the weekend. We tried horse for the first time since we got here. Despite having a horse butcher across the road from us, for one reason or another we hadn’t got round to getting some. So last weekend we took the plunge and went for two “faux fillet” steaks.

Cooked up with a bit of balsamic and some veg it was pretty tasty (expect a write up on the Golden Shrimp some time soon!). I would say a cross between the fibrous nature of beef and the dry texture of liver with a slightly gamey taste. Pretty good and definitely an option for the future. But I have to admit to being equally anxious and curious about getting it. I think it must have been my Irish upbringing. But now I know, horses are not just for breeding, racing and jumping onto the roof of speeding trains while tracking down the outlaws.

One response to “Hi ho Silver…

  1. Mmmm.. Horse! It’s not that bad!

    Back in Vienna we had some visitors from the offices in the Phillipines and Hong Kong over so I took them out one night to the Mongolian Barbecue at Fleischmarkt. Actually the primary reason for bringing them there was that the three of them hadn’t had rice in about five days but that’s another story.

    Anyway, they were admiring the rather tasty looking meat on my plate and were wondering why it was such a bright red colour. When I told them it was horse any red colour in their faces just drained away.

    I can imagine the stories about their trip back at home. Especially about the mad Irishman eating horse and drinking like a fish!

Leave a Reply

