Pimp my feed…

I’m almost 200 posts into this blog and I still haven’t a clue what I’m doing. I’ve been reading a lot about this Feedburner thing and I have to say I’m confused. But as everyone else seems to be doing it I suppose it can’t do any harm.

So last night I pimped my feed. I signed up for Feedburner and since its just been bought by Google I get all the pro tools for free. Bonus! But I still haven’t a clue. So I’ve ticked a load of boxes, filled in what information I know and I’m hoping for the best.

I’ve put a little button sort of half way down the right hand side for you to click to subscribe. Please change your browsers/readers/fridge magnets and whatever else you use over to this new feed! Here’s the address just in case:

http://feeds.feedburner.com/theswissjob

That should do it!!

7 responses to “Pimp my feed…

  1. Does this count for Safari?? Will my normal RSS thingy still work??

  2. Haven’t the foggiest. I’m not sure what I have just done or whether I can reverse it or if it’ll self destruct within five seconds! Try it on Safari and let me know what happens.

  3. I use Feedburner for my blog and actually have a module that converts or re-directs the Drupal rss feeds to Feedburner. I’m sure WordPress would have a similar module or plugin. It really does make things easier. For one, if you change your web address, for whatever reason, all you need to do is alter a setting at Feedburner and people who are previously viewing your rss feeds will be none the wiser, you don’t have to tell them to change their feeds.

  4. Yeah, I know what you mean. I haven’t a clue either. I just thought that feedburner was so people could subscribe to your page. I don’t know what this RSS thing is either. What’s worrying me is, I should know, I’m a Systems Engineer!! All these little Internet technologies freak me out.

  5. I say just keep on posting. Forget feeds and RSS, they’re a distraction.

  6. WordPress does have a plugin for Feedburner–I use it. You can find it here.

    Feedburner is nice, but if you want to know all of the links in and out of your blog, I’d suggest using the WordPress.com Stats. They work better on things like that.

Leave a Reply

