Hit the dirt…

This was the headline that greeted me this morning:

Swiss rapped over poor data on gun ownership

Switzerland has the fourth highest guns per capita ratio in the world behind America, Yemen and Finland (any comment TBF?)! But now it seems that the Swiss aren’t exactly sure how many guns there are here. Somewhere between 1.2 and 12 million supposedly! That’s a little too big of a margin for my liking.

So I’m writing this from the concrete bunker in the basement. I’ve stocked the shelter with baked beans, a spare toothbrush, four crates of beer and my Swiss army knife (obviously). I should be good for at least three days.

For a “neutral” country, Switzerland seems ready for something!

One response to “Hit the dirt…

  1. I always tell people that I find the Swiss and Finns to be a similar people. Not sure about the guns, though. I know Finland has mandatory military service (although not as long as Switzerland’s), so maybe that has something to do with it. Also, I’m not really sure, but I’d guess that a lot of hunting goes on in Finland. Whatever the reasons, both Switzerland and Finland are pretty safe countries. I mean, who’s going to break into a house when there’s a very high probability that the resident is going to have at least one gun at the ready for self-defense.

    America, on the other hand…
    …lots of guns, and not very safe.

    So much for that theory.

Leave a Reply

