Oh God…

I’ve just been to see Ireland fail badly against the French in the Rugby World Cup. I was in an Irish pub in Switzerland in the middle of a crowd of French? How do I get myself into these situations?

But I have to say I love the atmosphere when watching rugby games. There are no bad feelings, a lot of camaraderie and some good banter. Even when it was obvious there was no way back, the fun continued and the singing and slagging reached a peak!

I’m incredibly disappointed with the Irish team, proud of them that they tried but in disbelief at how badly the Irish team played. It asks many questions of the team and management and it does not look good in the short term.

It also makes the trip to Paris next weekend to see them play Argentina not as pleasant as I had envisioned before the tournament began. But, a few days in Paris will be good for the soul and hopefully the Irish team can play for pride if not for the bonus point they desperately need.

5 responses to “Oh God…

  1. Why does an Irishman – 30 minutes after the match rush to his Blog and expresss himself in such a fashion. Stay in the Pub and drown your sorrows & leave the Blog alone.

  2. Camaraderie goes out the window with the comments about Eddie O’Sullivan printed all throughout the French press the last few days.

    Apologies for the rather long URL:

    http://www.irishexaminer.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=43243-qqqx=1.asp

  3. I’m trying so hard to remain hopeful, but it is all a bit futile now isn’t it?

  4. I’m trying so hard to remain hopeful, but it is all a bit futile now isn’t it?

  5. I googled Brian O’Driscoll and somehow I ended up on your blog 🙂 I haven’t read much of it yet but it’s fun 😀 I’m Swiss and I’ve studied at DCU in 05/06. I hope I’ll be able to go back to Éire for work someday.
    I hope you’re enjoying your time here in CH.
    Have fun in Paris!!!

Leave a Reply

