VIP…oh yeah!

Just a brief scoot back to last week before I launch head first and at length into our trip to Paris. We were invited along to the Kaserne, an old military barracks in the heart of Basel that’s now a collection of pubs and concert venues and a mosque strangely enough! The Raveonettes were playing and a colleague of Eva’s said we should come along and have a listen. It’s only the second time in my life I’ve been on a “guestlist” and so I breezed up to the door, got my free green wrist band and sauntered in! It’s amazing how power goes to your head!

The Raveonettes sounded familiar but I’d never knowingly heard any of their music so I went with an open mind. It turned out to be a great concert. They’re a three piece Danish band who I find hard to categorise musically. They have elements of Goldfrapp, Blondie and the White Stripes but with two part harmonies. They consist of two lead singers/guitarists and a drummer. The female lead guitarist is a cross between Nina Persson from the Cardigans and Debbie Harry in her heyday. Need I say more?

They played a great set taking material from their three (I think…) albums plus one or two cover versions. I recognised one or two of the tracks, especially the single “Love in a trashcan” which was probably on a film soundtrack somewhere. The crowd was small and the hall was far was packed but the atmosphere was great, plenty of room to move/boogie round in and I left thinking that the iTunes library needs a new addition. Not sure which album to go with yet so if you have any recommendations I’d be glad to hear them. If you’ve never heard of them I think you should have a look and listen:

The Raveonettes

Leave a Reply

